News Archives

For the First Time in 16 Years, No Players Voted into Hall of Fame

January 9th, 2013 at 2:52 PM
By Bob Moseman

'Baseball Hall of Fame' photo (c) 2008, rachaelvoorhees - license:

For only the eighth time since its inception, the National Baseball Hall of Fame will not be voting in any new candidates. On Wednesday, the Baseball Writers Association of America took its most glaring jab at the steroids era of baseball as no players received the minimum 75 percent of votes required to enter Cooperstown. Included on the list of players that were up for election this year included former Yankees first baseman Don Mattingly and starting pitcher Roger Clemens. In addition, former New York Mets catcher Mike Piazza and all-time home run record holders Mark McGwire and Barry Bonds also fell short of the required minimum. 

While McGwire to this day is the lone-admitted participant in the use of steroids, this year's ballot included multiple players who have been heavily implicated in the use of steroids and performance-enhancing drugs. Former Houston Astro second baseman/catcher/outfielder Craig Biggio received 68.2 percent of the ballots cast, the highest vote of this year's candidates. Biggio finished his career with 3,060 hits. The last year no players were elected to Cooperstown was 1996.



  •  Go on Facebook and "like" Yankees 10 and follow Yankees 101 on Twitter.
Tags: Barry Bonds, Baseball Hall of Fame, Craig Biggio, Don Mattingly, Mark McGwire, mike piazza, MLB, New York, New York Yankees, Roger Clemens

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: